Recipients of the President’s Service Award for Excellence

2014 | 2013| 2012 |2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996 | 1995 | 1994 | 1993 | 1992 | 1991


  • Paola Baca, Associate Director, Undergraduate Admissions,  Enrolment Services (Vancouver campus)
  • Penelope (Lebby) Balakshin, Biodiversity Research Centre Administrator, Biodiversity Research Centre (Vancouver campus)
  • Ken Day, Manager, Alex Fraser Research Forest, Faculty of Forestry (Alex Fraser Research Forest site)
  • Erin Shannon, Manager, Academic Support, Enrolment Services (Okanagan campus)
  • Leah Walker, Associate Director, Education, Centre for Excellence in Indigenous Health (School of Population and Public Health) (St Paul’s Hospital site)


  • Dionne Pelan, Coordinator, Computer and Drop-In Programs, UBC Learning Exchange
  • Dr. Rob Lloyd-Smith, Physician, Student Health Service
  • Lynn Macdonald, Manager, UBC Animal Care & Biosafety Committees
  • Nelson Dinn, Business Operations Manager, UBC Dairy Education and Research Centre
  • Andrea Wink, Assistant Dean, Development & Alumni Engagement, Faculty of Applied Science


  • Rose Harper, Senior Program Assistant for Arts One and the Coordinated Arts Program (Vancouver campus)
  • Maureen Lisle, Visual Arts Technician in the Department of Creative Studies (Okanagan campus)
  • Jarnail Mehroke, Teaching Lab Technician in the Department of Botany, Biology Program (Vancouver campus)
  • Peter Milroy, Director of UBC Press (Vancouver campus)


  • Katherine Beaumont, Director, Go Global
  • Carol Mayer, Curator (Oceania & Africa), Museum of Anthropology
  • Patricia Mirwaldt, Director, Student Health Services
  • Michele Ng, Project Coordinator, Department of Computer Science
  • Tangerine Twiss, Executive Assistant, International Office, Office of the Vice President Research & International


  • Maura da Cruz, Organizational and Learning Consultant, Department of Human Resources
  • Paul Lawson, Manager, Malcolm Knapp Research Forest
  • Justin Marples, Director, Classroom Services
  • Andrew Parr, Managing Director, Student Housing and Hospitality Services
  • Gerald Vanderwoude, Administrator and Business Manager, Department of Theatre and Film


  • John Sacre, Capital Program & Maintenance Manager, Land and Building Services
  • Kersti Krug, Assistant Principal, Strategic Development and Administration, College for Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Laura-Lynn Lowry, Senior Food Service Assistant, Food Services
  • Alan Owen Steeves, Computer and Electronics Manager, Dept. of Mechanical Engineering
  • Bernice Urbaniak, Administrative Manager, School of Human Kinetics and President, AAPS

to top


  • James Bellavance, Facilities Manager, Land and Building Services
  • Richard Moore, Facilities Coordinator, Irving K. Barber Learning Centre
  • Patricia Rose, Secretary, Theatre, Film and Creative Writing
  • Margaret Tom-Wing, Executive Coordinator, Faculty of Arts Deans Office
  • Moya Waters, Associate Director, Museum of Anthropology

to top


  • Ian S. Burgess, Director, CFI Office, Office of the VP Research
  • Samson Cheung, Head Service Worker, Land & Building Services
  • Bridget Hamilton, Receptionist, Physics & Astronomy Department
  • Glen Peterson, Associate Professor, History Department
  • Leeta Sokalski, Manager, Office & Circulation Irving K. Barber Learning Centre

to top


  • Catherine Alkenbrack, Associate Director, Land & Building Services
  • Dorota Bartnik-Kapsa, Senior Supervisor, UBC Childcare
  • Brian Lee, Director Finance, Faculty of Arts
  • Douglas R. Quinville, Service Manager, IT Services
  • Anne Stanton, Custodial Service Worker, Land & Building Services

to top


  • Tammy Brimner, Senior Manager, Faculty Relations
  • Bridie Byrne, Faculty Administrator, Faculty of Science
  • Darlene Crowe, Manager, Administration, Michael Smith Laboratories
  • Anne-Marie Fenger, Assistant Dean, Faculty of Arts
  • Krishna Reddy, Service Worker, Facility Management Group

to top


  • Belle Dale-Wills, Associate Director, Facility Services
  • Yashmin Kassam, First Year Advisor, English Department
  • Audrey Lindsay, Associate Registrar & Director, Student Systems
  • Suzanne Poohkay, Associate Director, Facilities & Capital Planning Capital Programs, Campus & Community Planning
  • Julie Walchli, Director, Faculty of Arts Co-operative, Education Program

to top


  • Deborah Austin, Human Resources and Administration, Land and Building Services
  • Eilis Courtney, Ceremonies Office
  • Mary Murphy, Faculty of Applied Science
  • Eileen Oertwig, Faculty of Arts
  • James Ramsay, Project Services, Land and Building Services

to top


  • Saroj Chand, Education
  • Christine Graham, Statistics
  • Janice Austin, Education Library
  • Katriona Macdonald, Graduate Studies
  • Michelle Mccraughan, Audiology & Speech Sciences

to top


  • Benjamin Clifford, Chemistry
  • Vicki Koulouris, Dentistry
  • Roseanne Mcindoe, Anatomy
  • Ruth Sigal, Women’s Resource Centre
  • Charles E. Slonecker, Ceremonies & University Relations
  • Sharon E. M. Walker, Bookstore

to top


  • Donna Chin, Canadian Literature
  • David Holm, Zoology
  • Elaine Lui, Dentistry
  • George Mclaughlin, Plant Operations
  • Gayle Smith, Office Of the Vice President, Academic

to top


  • Stanley Hamilton, Commerce
  • Isabel Da Silva, Music
  • Anthony Leugner, Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Beryl Morphet, Arts (History)
  • William Webber, Medicine

to top


  • William Robert Cullen, Chemistry
  • Mary Enid Graham, Asian Studies
  • Allan Stewart Lackie, Purchasing
  • Patricia Anne Lackie, English
  • Gisela Mallue, Library

to top


  • Barbara Miltner Evans, President’s Office
  • Suzanne Cates Dodson, Library
  • Raymond John Hall, Theatre & Film
  • David Francis Hardwick, Pathology
  • Odile Kucera French, A. Bruce Macdonald Botanical Garden

to top


  • Lore A.B. Hoffmann, Physics
  • Nestor Korchinsky, Intramurals
  • Rosemary H. Leach, English
  • Frances Medley, Assistant Secretary Of Senate
  • Douglas A. Napier, Plant Operations
  • Mary L. Risebrough, Housing And Conferences

to top


  • Harvey J. Burian, Human Resources
  • Albert J. Mcclean, Law
  • William B. Mclennan, Museum Of Anthropology
  • Christine Mewis, Oceanography
  • Rolando F. Robillo, Microbiology

to top


  • Maureen Douglas, Science
  • Albert Emslie, Plant Operations
  • Helen Hahn, Office Of the Vice President, Research
  • David L. Williams, Physics
  • Thomas J. Shorthouse, Law

to top


  • John Dennison, Administration, Adult & Higher Education
  • Mavis Dunsford, Nursing
  • Joan King, Ceremonies
  • Gail Robertson, Commerce
  • Geoffrey Scudder, Zoology

to top


  • Michael Crooks, Physics
  • Gay Huchelega, Agricultural Sciences
  • Barry Scott, Bookstore
  • Sonja Sigfredsen, Plant Operations
  • John Stager, Geography

to top


  • June Binkert, Fine Arts
  • Sheldon Cherry, Civil Engineering/Graduate Studies
  • Robert Hindmarch, Athletics
  • Shirley Louie, Food Services
  • Norman Watt, Extra Sessional Studies

Comments are closed.

UBC Award Opportunities

UBC has many award and recognition opportunities available for our Faculty and Staff. Visit the UBC Award Opportunities page for information on celebrating outstanding contributions to the University.

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Focus On People
600 - 6190 Wesbrook Mall
Vancouver, BC, Canada
V6T 1Z3
Tel 604.822.8111
Fax 604.822.8134

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © 2015 University of British Columbia